Welcome to my blog!

grad2010

2010 University of Tennessee Commencement Ceremony

Hi everyone! My name is Katherine Saxon and I was born and raised in Nashville, Tennessee. I started college at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville, back in 2006. I majored in public relations and minored in business administration.

After graduating in 2010, I worked as a web communications manager for Visit Knoxville, the local tourism bureau. I was then promoted to communications manager and had the chance to showcase Knoxville as a premier travel destination to both visitors and national media journalists.

In 2013, I decided that I wanted to go back to school but knew that I would need to continue working while taking classes. I was hired in UT’s Office of Communications and Marketing as the university’s first-ever coordinator for student communications. In this role, I communicate important information and news to 27,000+ students and other campus stakeholders. I have been taking one course per semester since 2014 as I work towards completing my master’s degree.

I quickly grew to love higher education communications. I am really interested in digital communications and the ever-changing preferences of campus stakeholders in the ways they receive information from their university and what type of information they want.

In my current position, I also serve on the university’s social media team with two of my coworkers. We run the @UTKnoxville social media accounts, posting content daily and engaging with various audiences (students, alumni, and fans).

My hope is that this class will help me better understand the tools available for social media that I can implement in our daily efforts. I also hope to hear from other students in the class about their social media preferences and what type of content they are most interested in seeing on different platforms. If you have suggestions on what you would like to see on the @UTKnoxville accounts, I would love to hear your feedback!

I decided to create this blog, Higher Ed Communications Trends, to showcase some of the work I have had the opportunity to work on while at UT and highlight the efforts of other colleges and universities that I admire. I hope that I can continue this blog after the class ends to serve as a source of ideas and inspiration for other communicators at higher education institutions.

 

Leave a Reply

